Where There’s a Will, There’s a Way

It’s Friday, and I’m doing a recap since I didn’t post every day. It was definitely not a typical week–some interesting things happened:

  • I got introduced to Georgia’s way of dealing with snow.
  • I lost considerable weight.
  • One of my accounts got hacked.

I’m a little hashtag-happy today, so I’ve left a few in this post (I know, the slightest of things amuses me these days after being snowed in all week). I’ll start with the last one first.

Who Did I P*** Off?

Yesterday while I was out and about, I left my laptop on, using a USB stick from T-Mobile as a secure connection to the internet and my VPN/company-intranet. When I returned, two things were “off”:

  • My laptop was displaying the login screen (as if it rebooted itself)
  • My Yahoo email account spammed all 1100 of my contacts multiple times before deleting them from my addressbook.

I was able to recover my contacts, changed my password, and sent an apologetic status message to my “FB family.” The funny thing was, a few people actually responded to me, said they would check out the link in the email, and asked how my daughter and I were doing!  I stayed up until after 2 a.m. cleaning out email and unsubscribing from several lists (only to resubscribe from another email).  I also changed my autoresponder (I didn’t even know where this was at first, but once I figured it out, I found that the hacker had placed a long, stupid email in there, too). I kinda feel a little violated, so I won’t be using that email anymore after today.

People, let’s get this straight: if you’re my friend or a business contact, I will NEVER send you an email that starts out with “Hi friend.” Nope. Not even when I write an email message to a list. And if that didn’t catch you, the rest of my writing should. I am conversational and sometimes blunt. Just hit delete and keep it moving.

I actually had a dream just before I woke up that was surely influenced by this. At the end of the dream,  a friend of mine accused me of sending him a rude and inflammatory text about a friend of his that was deceased! (WITW did I get that from?) In reality, I recently changed my cell phone number for the first time in over 7 years, so I told him it wasn’t me, because I no longer had that phone number. He wasn’t moved. Matter of fact, he had three big, menacing friends with him that also looked unamused. I don’t know what they were going to do to me, but mercifully, I woke up.

Deep, huh? (I know, #itsnotthatserious.)

Weight Challenge Check-In

As I mentioned last week, I’m one of the participants in Lexi’s weight loss challenge. To minimize any distortion or false pretenses, I weighed myself on the same scale, at the same time of day, and naked, just as I did initially.

First “Weigh-In”: 186 lbs (6 lbs lost since 12/30/10)
Inches: (I didn’t measure my waist or hips this week, but let’s put it this way: all my jeans are still tight.)

I lost 50 lbs in 2005 when I was on the L.A. Weight Loss program (I think it’s called Pure Weight Loss now), so I know how I’m supposed to eat to stay healthy and maintain my desired weight. The LAWL program taught me that the safest rate of weight loss is 1-2 pounds per week (especially since I did NOT exercise). I still have my materials from that program, but no, I wasn’t following those strict rules either. I could stand to use even more self-discipline. I could easily walk to the next building over from mine to use the fitness center, but I’ve been resisting it because I get bored on machines (I prefer classes like kickboxing and Zumba). The massive weight loss of 6 pounds in these past 2 weeks surprised me and wasn’t intentional. I will reveal it later this month.  #istillneedtogetoffmybutt

My Eyes, My Eyes!

I had Lasik re-done on my left eye, and so far it has been great. My eyes have been dry, and that is expected, but everything I see is crystal-clear. Loves it. It’s like having a new pair of eyes, and that’s saying a lot for someone who wore glasses for 25 years. #whatelsecanisay

“Mommy, Guess What? I Get TWO Winter Breaks This Year!”

I’ve got four words for the way the state of Georgia dealt with the so-called snowstorm that took place this past Sunday night across the metro Atlanta area:

Ri-dic-u-lous.

It’s not much unlike the mid-Atlantic states that I lived in for the past 12 years (the DMV area of D.C. and Hampton Roads in VA): they act like they don’t know what to do in winter weather. Umm, snowplows anyone? (From what I’ve heard, Atlanta has six of them, and two are used for the airport, which is one of the busiest in the nation.)

Nope. Close everything until the sun comes out and melts it down. That’s why my daughter didn’t go to school ALL WEEK. Oh yeah– and no meat in the stores…. and no mail service.

Here’s the kicker–Monday is a holiday. How nice for my girl.  Thus, I quoted her in the subheading.

Yep, total SHUTDOWN. You’d think we had a blizzard with 2 feet of snow. You wouldn’t know so many Atlanta transplants are from up north, myself included. And where I’m from, they never closed school no matter how bad the weather was. Negative wind chill? So what. Umpteen feet of snow? I had better get to steppin’.

#thatisall

2 thoughts on “Where There’s a Will, There’s a Way

  1. Pingback: The Slow Fast « Daree's Insights

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Where There’s a Will, There’s a Way « Daree's Insights -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.