Thanksgiving, Thanksblessings, and Buy Nothing

Source: Buy Nothing Day UK

You might call the day after Thanksgiving “Black Friday” (I call it my birthday–at least this year). But what you may not know is that it’s also known as International Buy Nothing Day (Nov. 23 – Nov. 24). I want to put this at the forefront of my post today because merchants are going hard starting their Black Friday sales early, and I’ve got a different kind of message post on Black Friday.

Did you know that everything we buy has an impact on the environment? Buy Nothing Day highlights the environmental and ethical consequences of consumerism. According to Buy Nothing Day UK, developed countries – only 20% of the world population are consuming over 80% of the earth’s natural resources, causing a disproportionate level of environmental damage, and an unfair distribution of wealth.

Buy Nothing Day is an international day of protest against consumerism in over 60 countries. People are encouraged to not make any purchases throughout the entire day. The idea is to increase participants’ awareness of their spending habits and to think about mass consumerism and its effect on the cultural and natural environment of the world.

 

Thanksblessings

Source: Stokesay Castle

A book I recently finished got me thinking about whether my happiness and joy comes from what I’m actually doing more than the process of getting there. There’s something to learn from every process, regardless of whether or not the actual goal is achieved.

I’m thankful for all the opportunities I’ve had to meet new people and influence them for the better.

I’m thankful for the process of being a better parent every day.

I’m thankful for the process of physical and spiritual self-discipline.

It keeps me aware of the unseen, and it helps me get leaner and stronger.

I’m thankful for the process of dating one person long enough to solidify what I want in my life, what I won’t tolerate, and the possibility of an “Ever after” the second time around.

I’m thankful that God is always more faithful to me than I am to Him.

I’ve accomplished a lot since last November, and I’m thankful for that, too.  (You can read about that tomorrow.)

Source: RedFox Magazine

You can find some wonderful “Thanksblessings” here.

I’d like to wish you and yours a wonderful Thanksgiving. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, Thanksblessings, and Buy Nothing

  1. Pingback: Cyber Week and Christmas Sale Mania | Daree's Insights

Comments are closed.