Don’t Be Afraid to Say What You Want

When people define their expectations in any type relationship (family, business, or dating), it helps to avoid some of the hurts feelings and misunderstandings that can ensue.

Something that I expect overall is consistency. Feelings can change easily, but overall there should be some things that do not change that often with a person. There are times when you change your mind about a person or a situation, but there should be a good reason. When a person changes their mind abruptly, or goes so far left that the change is too extreme (as in, extremely wrong), I have a problem with them.

One thing I am still learning, in various settings, is to be able to say what I want or what I expect from a person, without the fear of rejection or being shut down. Just because I want something and others don’t agree, doesn’t mean there’s something wrong with my request.

