Trips: I’m Used to Going it Alone

I haven’t blogged much lately because I’ve been traveling so much, and submitting everything I write to publications.  Today I just got back from Newark, I was in Houston speaking at the Blacke Student Summit 2 weeks ago, and before that? Well, that was actually a pleasure trip to Las Vegas, and as usual, I was alone–but not lonely.

I’m attaching an article I wrote on the way back from Vegas (this is the short version) from a paper local.

YourCornerVegas CoverYourCornerVegas

I got some nice emails from people saying that they admired my bravery and willingness to do such a thing. After all, I took a 5-hr plane ride across the country with just one bag of luggage and a camera, and spent a week hanging out.

Have you traveled a long distance before, just for fun, alone?

5 thoughts on “Trips: I’m Used to Going it Alone

  1. Traveling alone…woooo…that’s scary! I travel long distances quite often, at least once a year. Most of my travels are alone, but I haven’t figured out how to make them fun. When I travel with a companion, I always have fun. I am going to use your experience as an inspiration to try something new. I’m going to plan a trip alone and let you know how my adventure turns out.

  2. It took a lot of guts to “go it alone”, Daree. Most people miss out on so much simply because they don’t want to do things alone…go to the movies, out to dinner, take a trip, or whatever. There are a lot of advantages to taking trips alone, the main one being meeting new people when you actually get to wherever you’re going. I travel alone most of the time as well. Don’t get me wrong, it’d be great to have a travel companion, BUT that shouldn’t stop us from doing what we want to do and experiencing the things we really want to.
    Great stuff!

Comments are closed.