I Still Want a Baby Laptop

I have a couple of friends who have what I refer to as “baby laptops.” I know–it’s a far cry from the correct term, netbook, but that’s just my way.

I want one. I need one. I was hoping a special someone could get me one as a lovely birthday gift in November, but I didn’t have a special someone (not that week–he bailed before my big day). Christmas came and went, too.

I got an email on Christmas Eve about the Mom Bloggers Club sweepstakes where you could win an HP Mini 110-1100 with Windows 7 Home Premium. All you have to do is blog about what you would do with it. I know how I would use the baby laptop.

I’m on the cusp of officially launching my writing and speaking website, Delivering A Rich, Empowering Experience so marketing my services and getting my name out there is a priority for me.  I’d use the HP Mini to keep abreast of my subscriptions for freelancing jobs and capture leads, follow up with experts I need to interview, update my editorial calendar, check on writing contests, and schedule my non-work activities such as my daughter’s social life (she’s 6, lol), church activities, Toastmasters events, and speaking engagements.

I traveled a lot in the latter half of 2009, and I always brought my laptop with me. My only requirements of a hotel are a decent bed and free wi-fi so I can use my laptop to access mapquest and local information as well as manage my writing projects and use IM, Facebook and Twitter to keep in touch. I usually have a layover when I fly, and I use that waiting time to type up story ideas, watch videos, and read PDFs of newsletters and ebooks I’ve downloaded. The problem is, my laptop belongs to my company (I’m still employed as well as freelancing), and it’s pretty heavy even if I switch shoulders carrying it around on travel days. The HP Mini is just over 3 pounds–music to my ears.

The baby laptop would be really convenient to have while I’m out and about every day. As a writer, I record my thoughts, inspirations, and notes in a legal-size notebook that I try to remember to take with me everywhere I go. With the HP Mini, I could type up ideas whenever the mod strikes, and not have to worry about keeping track of papers lying all over my desk and floor, nor would I have to sort them later. (Now where were my notes on such-and-such? It was right here a second ago…) I sing in the choir at church, but sometimes we learn new song lyrics “on the fly.” Typing the words to a song on the HP Mini while I’m listening to it would be much faster and more efficient than writing them longhand.

I would use my baby laptop in the house as well. I keep my company laptop and PC upstairs, while my bedroom and living room are downstairs, so having the lightweight HP Mini would save me more than a few steps.


Do you have a netbook? How does it help you organize your life? If you don’t have one, could you see yourself simplifying your life by owning one? Mom Blogger’s Club will randomly give away three (3) HP Mini 110-1100 by Studio Tord Boontje PCs to readers who leave a comments on various entrants’ blog posts, so leave a comment here!

42 thoughts on “I Still Want a Baby Laptop

  1. The contest has now closed, and winners will be announced by the Mom Bloggers Club on January 29. BIG THANKS to everyone who visited my blog and commented on this post. Best wishes to you for a happy 2010!

  2. I am in the process of trying to start my own business and I currently work from home…but I rarely stay in one place with my laptop. As I suffer from degenerative disc disease in my cervical spine – coupled with a heavy laptop – changing my “workspace” throughout the day is NOT an easy task.

    The HP Mini would simplify my life by allowing me to move my computer from place to place on my own…no more bothering the rest of the family! This netbook would be a true lifesaver!

    Thanks so much!

  3. Man my life could use some simplifying! I would love to be able to write my blog posts on the go or during lunch breaks. Now if the HP Mini 110 could help me get my daughter to sleep through the night, I would be in LOVE (even more!)

  4. Since I’ve never owned a laptop just being able to move from room to room with a computer would be amazing! And this one is a real beauty!

  5. An Hp Mini would simplify my life because I would be able to concentrate more on my internet activity with out my grandson and his friends always in my family room where my desktop is. Lots of noise when the boys get to playing their games. I can easily take a laptop to another room for more Mommy Quiet Times.

  6. I was looking at the HP mini Tord and Windows 7 and love all the features of both. The laptop is beautiful and Windows 7 features would really simplify my life. I love that it has a large HD and it has quick access features to find the files I need. And there is fast web surfing.

    member(dot)thao(at)gmail.com

  7. I entered too..oh how I would love to own a sweet sweet mini! TO be able to have a mini to call my very own. No more fighing for computer time!
    Good luck to both of us:)
    modernmom at rocketmail dot com

  8. I’d love to win one of these, it perfect for on-the-go computing. I would also be able to easily take it around the house and out to the back yard.

  9. Good luck! I used to travel a lot for work too and had to lug around this huge monstrosity of a laptop. I could see how the mini would have made life A LOT easier!

  10. This would make my life a lot simpler, I could work even when I am waiting for my kids to finish piano or dance lessons.

  11. I would LOVE to have one of these baby laptops too! Sure would be so much easier to take on the road on my long trips to my various doctor appointments.. Thanks for the chance to win and good luck!

    prpldy (at) comcast dot net

  12. Something this small would be really convenient for me since I need a computer for work and it is light enough to take on the bus which I use to commute every day. I could check e-mails & bills on my commute. My old laptop was actually stolen recently so I would love a new one! Good luck!

  13. I would LOVE to own one of these baby laptops! I’m a mom blogger and work full-time as an elementary teacher outside of the house- a 45 mile commute each way! I don’t own any of the latest gadgets- my cell phone makes calls…and that’s it. We have one desktop at home, but the concept that I could have everything at my fingertips in such a compact size AND take it with me??? Wow! With my life split between two different cities and a 4-year old tagging along, this Mini would do wonders in helping me stay connected and and on top of all my commitments!

  14. Good Luck to you! I blogged & entered, too!
    This HP 100 Mini netbook would be a blessing to our family, too, as we only have one old desktop to share amongst our family of 7. We rely heavily on spreadsheets, lists,email and schedules, etc. to streamline our day to day activities, and the portability of the HP 100 mini would make it so effortless and stylish. Plus, mobile computing would be perfect to pass the time–when time stands still–like when waiting in a doctor’s office!

    Good Luck!
    Twincere(at)gmail(dot)com

  15. I have to do a lot of traveling and I use a friend’s extra laptop while I’m on the road. It would be great if I didn’t have to use his and didn’t have to carry such a big thing through airport security! A “baby laptop” would be fantastic! =)

  16. I don’t have a netbook but, would very much LOVE to win this HP Mini. Crossing my fingers for a chance to win.

    Cute title: BAby Laptop~ 🙂

  17. Love it – “baby laptop!” Good luck! I’ve also been wanting one but haven’t yet splurged, but it would be wonderful to have it for when we’re traveling, when I’m sitting in the “pick up line” at school, and even just around the house and in the back yard.

    Good luck to all of us!

Comments are closed.