The Golden Ticket to 20/20?

Seven years ago, I gave birth to my daughter with no epidural or drugs. I had a midwife and all the action played out in a birthing center instead of a hospital. Since then, I’ve weighed anything I’ve been through or seemingly scary endeavors against those eight hours of contractions in 2003 alternating the Bradley Method of labor with dozing off.

But right now, I’m scared y’all. For real.

Quite a few people I know have had LASIK surgery and are so glad they had it done. I’m a squeamish gal and couldn’t see myself (pardon the pun) laying down and letting someone keep my eyelids open with those thingys while they lasered me. (And especially not after the PussyCat Dolls episode of Keeping Up With the Kardashians where they showed Kim getting it done.) I’ve passed on the LASIK option for years.

http://crankbunny.bigcartel.com/product/custom-golden-ticket-scratch-card
Copyright ©2009 Crankbunny™ | Norma V. Toraya

Then I came across the “Golden Ticket.”

Not even a week after settling in to my new apartment in Atlanta, I received a Savvy Shopper booklet in the mail. Normally I would throw it away, but since I’m new to the area, I decided to peruse it and take note of some of the local businesses.

Joffe MediCenter was a name and logo I had seen in the Cumberland area where I live. I didn’t know they did, just that it sat near the corner of a prime intersection across from Cumberland Mall, about two miles away from me.

A STEAL OF A DEAL

The Joffe ad offered LASIK for $695 per eye with a few stipulations:

  1. I had to, of course, take their eye exams to ensure I was a good candidate for the surgery.
  2. I had to make an appointment for the eye exam by 8/31, and have the surgery done by 9/4.
  3. I had to bring the ad with me to my appointment to guarantee the price. (I found out it is normally $1,195 there, while it’s easily $2K anywhere else.)

Check, check, and check!

I let the ad sit on my dining room table for a week, in sheer procrastination. I thought there had to be a catch. I didn’t want to experience what I discussed in the paragraph. I had 10 boxes of fresh, unopened contacts that I’ve stockpiled for the past two years (I don’t wear my contacts often).  I had lots of coupons for saline solution (OK I’m a coupon freak—and your point is?).

FRIENDLY CUSTOMER SERVICE—
WHO KNEW?

But I called and made an appointment. Dealt with three people during my 90-minute visit and they were all very personable, easygoing, and in no hurry. They took their time letting me know what was up. One of the first things I did when they called me (and there was almost no wait after I did my paperwork) was to bring me into the surgery room so I could be familiar. A brief talk with a male tech, a short video with a lot of FAQs, and some tests. I was very pleased with the visit, and it was complimentary. No tax or anything was added to my quoted price of $695 x 2 = $1390. A Golden Ticket indeed. Unheard of.

They only do surgeries on Thursdays and Fridays, only up to 20 patients per day max. I was asked if I wanted to have the surgery “this Thursday or next Thursday” since I’d have to come back for a follow-up the next day.

Whoa! I guess I don’t have much time to think this over, do I?

So early on the morning of September 2, 2010, if all goes well, I’ll be able to see without aid for the first time in 25 years.

Wow.

I know they’re going to give me a sedative to make me “feel alright,” but can’t they just knock me out like they did for my foot surgery? OK I know it only takes a few minutes to laser each eye, but  ewwwww!

But I…  Am… So…   NERVOUS!!!!!     

 

~~~~~TO BE CONTINUED~~~~~~

 

3 thoughts on “The Golden Ticket to 20/20?

  1. It’s so nice from you to share this experience and it’s great this opprtunity knocked on your door and that you were opened to it! 🙂

    And I’m happy to see we shared the same kind of birth experience the same year 😉 My duaghter was born on May 2003 with a midwife and my husband by my side, at home 🙂 Such a wonderful, deep, incredible, magic, moving day! And four years later I welcomed my son with a homebirth, again 😉

  2. I’ve been thinking about having this done. A few coworkers have had it and had nothing but good things to say about it.

    I’m pretty chicken. So, I’ll wait and let you tell me all about it. Good luck O_O

Comments are closed.