Creepy, Crawly, and Icky… But Good?

I’ve done a pretty good job preparing myself for almost everything that comes with a relocating from a house to an apartment. But one thing I gave no thought to? Bugs.

April Fools Day and Halloween are holidays that sometimes make my cringe because of all the fake bugs, rubber spiders, etc. that make their appearance “for the fun of it.”

I don’t think it’s fun or fun-ny.

“God made… all the creatures that move along the ground according to their kinds. And God saw that it was good. God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. “ – Genesis 1:25b; 31b (NIV)

The Bible says that everything God created was good, but that’s an adjective I have never attributed to an insect. What’s the purpose of insects anyway? I’ve never had a revelation about it, I just know that I don’t care for them, and I certainly don’t like them in my home.

When my ex-husband and I were engaged, we lived in an apartment in Forestville, MD, and it was there that I saw a roach for the first time. Once.

Once was enough.

For part of the year I lived there, he was at basic training in Fort Sam Houston, San Antonio, TX. He loved it there, and suggested we move to TX but when he told me about the bugs, that squashed it for me. We bought a home in MD once the lease was up.

Now it’s 11 years later, and as a single woman I’ve dealt with a lot of critters, but I’m not used to these big roach-looking waterbugs here in the South. I’d rather resolve annoying, complicated, technical software ‘bugs’ all day than have to see, kill, and dispose of one nasty waterbug in my home. But guess what I’ve been doing once a week for the past month that I’ve lived here? (And this is in spite of pest control.)

This is supposed to be an inspiring blog, so I’ll stop whining and give some food for thought: even though I don’t understand the purpose of these annoying critters, they’re here. At least in Georgia they are. And I’m not moving anywhere again for a looooooooooooong time, so we have to co-exist. I have to work it out somehow, get over my fears, and do what I gotta do. Life is like that too. As long as we are trying to grow in Christ and take a daily spiritual walk to become more like Him, there will always be something that comes along–a situation, a circumstance, a co-worker, or family member to bug strengthen us. At first glance we may be put off by the work it takes to clean up the mess it/they bring, but that’s where our character development comes in. If everything was easy, we could remain as careless and selfish as we when we were children. But bugs make us grow up.

I’ve had to put my squeamishness aside to “man up.” I’m still growing.

P. S.: No lie–as I thought of this topic and scribbled notes in my bedroom, a waterbug had the audacity to crawl over my bare foot and off into my closet. Was God getting me back for picking on His creatures?

I don’t think it’s funny, but He’s probably still laughing at me.

2 thoughts on “Creepy, Crawly, and Icky… But Good?

Comments are closed.