I Can Add “Award-Winning” to My Title Now…

I just learned that I won an award for one of my entries in the Writer’s Digest 79th Annual Writing Competition! The top 100 winners in each of several categories will be named in the December 2010 issue, and I received 82nd place in the Magazine Feature Writing category. As someone who has never been published in a national magazine before, I’m feeling quite honored. I submitted entries in three different categories, but so did thousands of others.

I could not have written the article without a few accomplished (and busy) authors/publishers who didn’t hesitate to contribute their reflections and advice. To Regina Brooks, Karen Hunter, Mitzi Miller, and Denene Millner, I thank you so much for giving of your time so I could interview you in December 2009, not knowing where the article would turn up, or if it would ever see the light of day! I admire you all so much, and it was a great honor.

If I am allowed to, I will post the award-winning feature article on this blog before the year is out. Yay me!!!

6 thoughts on “I Can Add “Award-Winning” to My Title Now…

  1. Whoa! This is awesome news!

    I also fancy myself a writer. I’ve been saying for the longest time that I would submit something to Reader’s Digest but never have. I’m happy to see someone follow through and get the gold.

    Great job and please post the piece if you can *thumbs up*

Comments are closed.