All I Do Is Win

In 2011, ALL I DO IS WIN.

Hey, I’m back!! Have you missed me lately? I haven’t posted in about six weeks, and it was not for lack of activity–there was plenty to do. I didn’t even know I’d be “gone” this long. I think I just got worn out with daily posts, and holidays seemed to be a good time to stop and regroup.

As you know, I am all about female empowerment and self-love. So in December 2010, I took part in two personal development challenges.

“Ignite Your G-Spot”
21-Day Gratitude Challenge

Starting on December 1, Shanel Cooper-Sykes‘ challenge had daily affirmations and in-depth focus on just 21 facets of life to be grateful for. Among some of the gems I recorded during her nightly Ustream classes:

  • Receiving: Praise more than you pray. Let go– don’t worry about how it’s going to happen. Continue about your day, in His presence, and let it be. Then act as if you’ve already received it!
  • Love: Build yourself up first. Accept who you are. See the good in people. Deepen your capacity to love. Accept people for who they are. Forgive them for any wrongdoing.
  • Home: Have a sacred space. Use the bathroom if you have to! Light a candle, write, be still. Have a set of house rules. Decide to be mad in a certain place in the home. Have a set of standards for your living environment– boundaries that must be respected.
  • Technology: Value your intellectual property. Take a class or get the training you need to maximize technology for your business and your goals. Have balance–keep your human & God-abilities sharp. Hand-write letters. Use personal communication skills (that is, know how to speak and carry yourself). Don’t become addicted to technology.
  • Transportation: Switch up your routine. Find alternate routes. Get uncomfortable with your routine. Get a change of scenery. Make sure you’re able to travel abroad. Get a passport. Be open to new places and explore. Pick a spot where you’ve never been and go!
  • Body: Love your body, your curves, your skin. Talk to your body parts and appreciate them. Respect your body. Don’t just give yourself away sexually. Show people how to treat you. Don’t let people randomly touch you. Preserve and charge your energy. You are in the image of God so represent that at all times. Look like it, speak like it, act like it.
  • Money: Increase your ability to earn money– multiple streams of income and your cash flow. – investing, Ebay, entrepreneurs can put up websites, network marketing, real estate. Set up a portal to have money come to you.
  • Knowledge: Knowledge is NOT power; applied knowledge is power. Seek– Be inquisitive. Acquire- be ignorance on fire! Let the enthusiasm and passion you have influence to get more knowledge. Display and share what you know.  Do what you know, that’s how you grow. Share your testimonies and lessons.
  • Fun: Go where you can grow. Invest in your social life. You might have to pay a little more to be around quality people (networks) and like-minded people. No stress and no mess. Keep your conversation positive and fun. Leave baggage at home. Explore and get out of your comfort zone. Don’t be like the cast of the show Cheers. You don’t have to go to the same place every time you go out. Do something different.
  • Friends: Fly in your flock. Eagles don’t stay on the ground pecking with pigeons. Stick with like-minded people who are going in the same direction. Don’t lower your standards or expectations. Invest time, money, and energy in your friendships. Set aside time to spend with your friends, and don’t always make it about you. Add value to their lives. Learn to listen more than you speak.
  • Struggle: Turn to God, not away. Praise Him, thank Him for the struggle. Find the lesson in every struggle. To get the blessing, you have to learn the lesson. You’ll repeat until you learn. Find the good in all the bad. Every situation has something– bad times help you appreciate the good times. Don’t react, be proactive. Don’t let your emotions rule your behavior. Be open to experiencing trouble. It means you’re going to grow, and that takes growing pains. God can’t use you until you’ve been broken. This too shall pass. You have to go through it to get to it.
  • Employment: Be, do, and have. To have things, to have a title, you have to do something, and you first have to be somebody. Be that now– act as if you have it now. Have a plan for growth. If you’re not growing, you’re dying. Have a plan to fire your boss if you want to leave.
  • Talent: Don’t keep it to yourself. You impact the world and fulfill your purpose by acting on your talent and using it to help others. Envision and visualize your talent. Make believe, your mind will believe, and then you can be! Learn the industry. There’s a lot behind the scenes in your craft. “The game is to be sold, not to be told.” Intellectual property is not free. It’s valuable. The world will pay for your services if you price yourself accordingly. Getting your education and degrees does not totally trump experience and intuition. “If you’re gonna do something, go hard or go home. Don’t step in the ring if you ain’t plannin’ to win!” Give yourself deadlines. Make a date for when you want to launch your business. Brand yourself.

And that’s not even half of what I wrote in my journal!

In addition to filling out a customized journal Sykes created, she also encouraged us to do two things every day during the gratitude challenge: (1) write a letter of gratitude (and mail it to the addressee), and (2) give a dollar to someone—anyone—just because you can. (Many participants said that the latter action caused some strange looks from people, but I’d be happy to receive a dollar from a stranger!)

Final closing affirmation: “MY LIFE IS NOT ABOUT ME AND FROM THIS MOMENT ON I WILL DO ALL THAT I CAN TO TOUCH THE LIFE EVERY PERSON I COME IN CONTACT WITH. I GIVE MORE IN SERVICE THAN I ASK TO RECEIVE BECAUSE I KNOW THAT GOD IS ALWAYS WORKING FOR ME, SO IN RETURN, I WILL WORK FOR OTHERS.”

I don’t think we can truly be happy until we serve others. It always comes back to you.

Loved it, Shanel!

Happy Black Woman’s
“31 Days to Reset Your Life”

Speaking of being happy, I found out about the Happy Black Woman’s challenge a little late (it also started December 1). 31 Days to Reset Your Life was pretty intense, and since I found out about it during week 2, I did not catch up or keep up with it (each day’s activity builds on the one before it). From writing your personal mission statement, to eradicating limiting beliefs, to listing 100 things that make you happy, the work involved was not for the faint of heart. Thankfully, all the posts are still available and I think anytime is a good time to start. I really admire Rosetta for setting it up, and I’ve since become a subscriber of her blog.

Now That I’m Back, What’s Next?

I love the new tees by Shari Neal, especially the one that says, “All I Do Is Win.” That is going to be my personal mantra and affirmation for 2011 that will encompass all of my goals. Tomorrow I’ll fill you in on some of the goals I’m working on this month—and I won’t leave you hanging for six weeks again in 2011. Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “All I Do Is Win

  1. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who conveniently knows what they’re talking about on the internet. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it colossal. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  2. Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

  3. Thanks for this post. I for certain agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so lets hope this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

Comments are closed.