Helping the Hungry

This past week has been absolutely nonstop for me, but one of the most rewarding things I did was participate in a Feed the People event. March 27, 2011 was the  3rd Annual National Feed The People Weekend, and we started the assembly that morning at the Othello Event Hall in Atlanta.

 
First a little background–the Feed The People (FTP) Program  is a grassroots organization that began in 2004. Since then, FTP has served over 100,000 meals and hygienic care packages in several cities including Los Angeles, San Diego and parts of Canada. FTP accepts donations of hygiene kit supplies (think samples of toiletries, new underwear and socks, feminine hygiene products, diapers, baby wipes), bottled water, fruit, sandwiches, clothing and more, as well as monetary donations.
At Othello, we formed assembly lines and put the lunches and kits together before heading out in a long line of cars to different spots in the downtown area. Along the way, we stopped at an underpass for the first distribution, and I teared up a bit. It’s been a long time since I went to a shelter or a park to deliver things to the homeless, and my first time doing so in this city. As I explained to my daughter K, an only child who doesn’t have lack in her life, everyone needs help sometime. When I think about it, most of us don’t have an adequate amount of savings, and are only a few paychecks away from poverty.

 
I was proudly amazed at K’s willingness to jump in the sandwich line to prepare the brown bag lunches, and to hand out supplies in the neighborhood. I also am looking forward to doing it all over again next month.

 
Wanna get involved? FTP meets every 2nd and 4th Sunday of the month.

One thought on “Helping the Hungry

Comments are closed.