The Bottle That Changed My Life: Part 2

Me, holding my empty hCG bottleI cannot tell you how HAPPY I was to finally be able to resume eating breakfast last week (it’s been 5 weeks)!

Now that I’m in P3,  I’m tracking my daily calories based on my last dose weight (LDW) to make sure I maintain it until I begin another round of hCG. [Taking breaks between rounds is thought to be necessary to stabilize the weight, resist/prevent hCG immunity, and give the body a break from the very low calorie days (VLCDs).] What you’re trying to do is get your body to reset itself to remember this weight and not steer more than a few pounds away from it.  (So far so good, because I have actually stayed at or under my LDW in this first week on P3.)

A general rule of thumb for maintaining your weight is to multiply it by 10, and eat that many calories daily. However, in P3 they recommend a minimum of 1500 calories (about 60% or so from protein). I’m also able to add in some good fats (certain types of dairy and oils), but very little sugar or starch, just like in P2. I’ll take it.

A New State of Mind

I am amazed that I cannot eat much at each meal– I get full much faster than ever before. But I’m really not in a hurry to eat the junk I used to eat. An occasional package of Reese’s (the ones with 2 cups) or a snack-size bag of chips won’t do me in. But I know my limits, and I wasn’t on my best behavior regarding portion control in the past. If I go to a restaurant during this 6-week period, I’ll wrap up 1/2 my food to go and eat it the next day. The desire to go to a drive-thru out of convenience (or the possession of coupons) doesn’t strike me strongly like it used to, either. I think one of the keys to maintaining your status is to cook as much as you can (chop stuff to prepare parts of meals in advance), and plan ahead so you don’t get “caught out there” with unhealthy choices while you’re out and about.

Getting to Know Food

The way most grocery stores are set up is to have the (overly) processed foods (everything packaged in a bag, box, or can) is sold in the aisles, while your healthier foods (in general–not an absolute) are found around the perimeter of the store.

The produce section is one that I rarely visited on any grocery store trip. A shame, I know. hCG taught me how to shop for fresh fruits and vegetables (out of necessity), and because of their short shelf life I started getting to know produce quite well. I I let the items in my pantry and freezer educate me on how to really read those cumbersome processed food labels–at least the ingredients I can pronounce. I have developed an even deeper empathy for diabetics and those on restrictive diets due to high cholesterol/blood sugar/ and other health issues. So I don’t shun all vegetables now, although we’re not BFFs either. Little by little, I’m getting there…

Current Status

So far I am maintaining my weight well. I shared a few thoughts about the BMI in part 1 of this post. At my height of 5’6″, I should be under 155 pounds (155 = BMI of 25, which is “Overweight”), but it’s been over a decade since I could claim that. And mind you, I was VERY skinny then.

Currently, my BMI is 28 (I’m just 2 points away from being “Obese.”) BMI is calculated by taking your weight (in pounds) and dividing by your height (in inches, squared); then you take that total and multiply it by 703. See the formula here.

Sometimes Motivation is Overrated

Sometimes we can’t wait to be inspired or motivated. We have to start the hard work (cue Steven Pressman’s book “The War of Art”) and then let the progress we see be our motivation. If we always waited to feel like doing something, our lives would be in shambles!

I recall a broadcast where Pastor Paula White has been known to say, “It’s not that you’re doing what’s wrong, it’s that you may not be doing enough of what’s right.” When it comes to major weight loss or any other lofty goal, you have to realize that it may take a loooooong time of doing the right thing to see the desired, lasting results you seek.

“Well I can’t live on 500 calories, Daree.” Some people can’t–due to health issues and doctor’s orders. But for many of us, it’s a matter of our own free will and subjective choice. I didn’t enjoy eating that little bit, but it was a temporary sacrifice for a great result. As I have heard many times before, “If you do what others don’t, you’ll get what others won’t.” And when I get to Round 2 in July, I’ll have all this experience to encourage myself again.

One thought on “The Bottle That Changed My Life: Part 2

Comments are closed.