Don’t Shoot the Messenger (It’s Not About Me)

Photo Credit: Purestock

When faced with a dilemma, some of us who believe in prayer may not always pray first before asking for a person’s opinion on what we should do about the situation. Sometimes prayer is used as a last resort. I like Joyce Meyer’s line, “Don’t run to the phone, run to the throne.” I have a tendency to want answers fast, so I have to take that advice just like the next person. However, I believe that God can and does use people to speak through, and I know that God has used me many times in the situations where someone has not prayed yet, or has prayed but is waiting for an answer.

If I give you my opinion about your situation, I’m probably going to tell you what I would do based on my own personal experience. The advice I give you is personal and I may even feel strongly about it because it comes from me. That’s what I did in my book (in part).

However, if I give you a message from the Spirit within me, that is, letting God speak through me to address or confirm something you’re contemplating, I take that very seriously and I do not shoot off at the mouth carelessly or emotionally. Further, I am so serious and so unemotional about it–even if I care about the situation as much as you do–that it’s ok with me if you don’t like what I say. Why? Because:

– I didn’t own the message.
– The message wasn’t for me–it was just for you.

It’s not about me being right, it’s about me…

– being obedient, and
– keeping quiet about my own opinion (especially if it could lead you astray)

I can’t control how you react when I give you the message, or even whether you truly receive it as intended. My responsibility when I get a message for you is to deliver it at the right time, and in the right manner (see “obedient” above). I won’t debate with you or engage in a lot of “back and forth” on the subject.

After all, when you know something is the truth—you don’t have the need to defend it or justify it. It’s the truth. And if you don’t believe me, time will tell.

*Special thanks to G2 for contributing to this post.

