Thanks-and-Giving: It’s Your Voice – Use It

What are your thoughts about tomorrow’s election in the United States? That’s today’s question for #NaBloPoMo on BlogHer.

Unprecendented Stakes

The scrutiny, criticism, and yes, prejudice that President Obama has faced since he campaigned for his first term is at a level unlike any other before him, yet he handles it with grace and integrity. Although my vote is still for Obama, I’m not a straight-down-the-line-Democrat, because no one political party has the same belief system. Although I love God, practice Christianity and I am pro-family values, I have no qualms about my support for our president, even when he supports ideologies that I don’t.

Just on women’s issues alone, it’s a no-brainer on who I need to vote for. Obamacare has been very good for women’s health.  And Lilly Ledbetter is an advocate, explaining Obama’s favorable position on supporting equal pay for women.   On the other hand, Romney wants to, among other anti-female measure, overturn Roe v. Wade.  I don’t have the time to go into all my reasons for opposing the Romney/Ryan ticket, but one thing is clear: no R&R for me.

Use Your Voice for Those Who Couldn’t

My recent visit to the Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, TN displayed an exhibit that resembled a wheel with about 100 spokes that you spin like Wheel of Fortune. Every spoke on the wheel was a different, stupid reason why a Black person was unable to vote. It usually involved beatings, trick questions, or something equally as frustrating. So not voting is not an option–it’s an insult to my ancestors who were bullied and denied the right to vote. We have a voice, and we should use it.

Use Your Voice Because It Matters

Some say they won’t vote because it doesn’t matter because nothing ever changes no matter who is in office. Not true. And this race is SO CLOSE, it’s crazy. Just a few hundred or a few thousand votes can tip the scales in either direction.  I won’t name names, but there’s a lot of folks who are hoping and praying that you don’t vote.   As De La Soul said in 1996: The stakes is high. I’ve got to do my part.

On the night Obama was elected, I worked the night shift and had no access to TV, so I didn’t live that moment “live” like everyone else. However, I’m so very thankful that I have the right and the opportunity to vote, and I will exercise it. Hopefully I will get to see that victory walk live this time.

