It’s Getting a Little Empty in Here…

empty fridge
Source: Big Oak Ridge

I hate grocery shopping on the weekends, and this weekend, I didn’t have the time or budget to do so; thus, my fridge is getting empty and my freezer already is . However, I’ve talked about my newly adopted practice of menu planning, but I have to combine that with budgeting to make it effective. :S

This post was prompted by today’s question at All the Weigh:
What’s in Your Fridge? This is my first time writing a post that is more like an interview than an essay, but hopefully you’ll like it.  🙂

1. List a few common items that can always be found in your fridge. 

Greek yogurt, cheese, distilled water, organic cage free eggs, multiple salad dressings (although we used up 3 of them yesterday!). I buy several bananas at a time and freeze them (to take the place of ice) for use in smoothies, since I drink smoothies almost daily. I used to keep the freezer stocked Smart Ones desserts, until I recently read Jillian Michael’s Master Your Metabolism and desired to start eating clean(er). (Or should I say “more cleanly”?)

2. What kind of milk do you drink?

Reading The Lean by Kathy Freston helped me abandon the idea of drinking cow’s milk altogether. I don’t drink milk plain anymore, but I use almond milk whenever I need milk when cooking, or in smoothies, so I can’t taste it anyway. Almond milk is usually on sale where I shop (less than $2 per carton), and I don’t have to buy it refrigerated, so I can get 2 or 3 containers at a time without fear or it spoiling fast.

3. Do you prefer fresh or frozen vegetables?

Frozen is preferred except for things like lettuce and tomatoes. I eat canned beans but I will try the bagged ones during the holidays. Canned food has too much sodium!

4. What do you currently have to drink in the fridge?

Hawaiian punch for my daughter and her friend that was here last weekend— I won’t touch it. I ran out of bottled water yesterday so I’m using the filter on the tap right now.

5. How often do you clean out your refrigerator?

Not sure if this means pitching stuff or actually washing it out. I’ve lived in this house for 3 months and haven’t washed it, but it doesn’t need it. And it’s almost empty.

6. What’s the healthiest thing in it right now?

I have a lot of lean protein in there now and a lot of veggies.

7. What’s the most unhealthy thing in it right now?

An orange cake that my daughter won on Halloween at a festival. I will pitch what’s left of it tomorrow (garbage day). The only reason it’s still there is because I refuse to eat cake. It doesn’t tempt me, especially while I’m going for my 10% goal in Weight Watchers this month. No cake for me.

8. What do you wish you had in it that you don’t have now?

Ummm, my whole grocery list! But at a minimum, some chicken and water would help.

9. How often do you shop for groceries?

I go almost every week for something. I like Trader Joe’s, but the location is not terribly convenient to go every week. I prefer them to Whole Foods, which is also an inconvenience. I’d love to keep my shopping down to just 2 stores, but unfortunately price and selection interfere with that goal.

10. What’s the weirdest thing in your fridge right now?

I have one link of Italian sausage-flavored Tofurkey, which I will likely have for lunch. It’s not necessarily weird, but abnormal for me to have (I’m a carnivore).

Bonus:  If you could choose one thing to put in the fridge and make it calorie-free what would it be? 

I don’t know– I guess a fast food sandwich?  I “stay losing” by avoiding fast food. A grilled chicken sandwich at Sonic is 14 points!

Ok, that wasn’t half bad.  How about you? Who does your grocery shopping? Do you eat clean and avoid processed foods, or do you struggle to keep your fridge filled with healthy things? Visit Kenlie’s blog to join in on her “Friend Makin’ Mondays” and for health and nutrition motivation.

