Vision is Better Than Sight

When people see a movie that was based on a book that they have read, they often like the book better. Is it because certain details were changed or left out of the movie? Maybe. But I think it has more to do with your imagination. As you read, your mind fills in the details of the setting and the characters. What you see in your mind’s eye almost never matches up with what is portrayed on-screen. I guess in that way, vision is better than sight. Or maybe vision is more like “insight.”)

What group of people have more imagination than children? My only child loves playing with others, but if we’re at home together, she has no problem taking out her dolls and playing school, or creating her own “story” with them.

As a part of our homeschool, I have her read to me from selected books on various subjects. I also have her read practical things to me in real-life scenarios. Take for instance when I went to the podiatrist last week. Upon leaving, he gave me a printout about my problem. I skimmed it for difficult words to pronounce, then had my daughter read it to me on the way home. A few days later, we went to the library because she signed up to read to a dog for 15 minutes. Yes, that’s right. She’ll read to anyone who will listen! (The program is called Reading PAWS.)serafani

She likes printed books, but she also likes using my Kindle at times. There’s no shortage of free and low-cost children’s books on Amazon (and probably the same is true for other e-readers). I say, whatever gets your kids stimulated to read, go for it. I was a e-reader snob once upon a time, but I have to admit that I read books faster on an e-reader. (But from an author POV, I still haven’t figured out the book signing thing with ebooks. Oh well.)
Resource: Scholastic’s reading guides for children of all ages

