Decisions, Decisions: Overcoming Decision-Making Paralysis

The stress that comes from making decisions can be tremendous. In the past decade I’ve moved several times, (twice to different states), gotten divorced, added new career paths and side hustles, begun homeschooling my child, purchased cars (3 in the past 2 years), succumbed to home foreclosure and filed for bk. You name it, I’ve been through it or close to it.

Credit: Touchdown Space

I continue to struggle with decision making. I’m one of those people who wants to be really sure of things before I do them, and I can’t always trust my gut because sometimes it’s fear doing the talking instead of faith. Even in prayer, I sense uncertainty and do not always have peace, which I usually regard as the “be-all-end-all” indicator of making sound decisions in my life.


My latest big decisions are:
1) My book cover design (which I will unveil tomorrow) and
2) Whether to, where, and what to teach (in fitness)

I recently started reading Decision Making and the Will of God by Gary Friesen as part of a new study at a local church. The book is over 600 pages, but I felt a sense of release after reading just the first two chapters, which address long-standing traditional views about God’s will that so many Christians have been taught (some of which are erroneous).

In the introductory class, one of the takeaways I got was that you cannot judge the success of a decision based on its outcome. That doesn’t sound right to me at first, but when you think about it, there are many times that you have to make a decision based on limited information and control. The more variables involved, the more cuckoo you can become when agonizing over what to do. (Or maybe that’s just me.)

Over the next several weeks, I’ll come back to this topic of decision making as I learn to lay aside some of my traditional beliefs, trust God more, and allow myself to be enlightened by the wisdom in this book.

How do you make tough decisions?

3 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions: Overcoming Decision-Making Paralysis

  1. For me, tough decisions take time. I usually research the issue. Then I think. Then I research more.

    Then I let everything percolate for a while, and wait until it feels right.

    So I put in a lot of thought, and then I wait for a feeling. Strange, but there you have it.

    Of course, prayer is a part of it, too. But I don’t know that I subscribe to the idea of taking “everything” to God in prayer. I doubt that he cares about our vacation destination. 🙂

    Finally, there’s something to be said for sleeping on it. Never pull the trigger on a big decision when you’re emotionally or physically spent. Just. Doesn’t. Work.

    Great post. Keep up the good work!

    Best,
    Joe

    1. I hear you Joe. I think He gives us a lot of freedom in our lives. When it comes to two seemingly equal (but tough) choices, I too tend to do a lot of thinking. Thanks for visiting the site!

Comments are closed.