Zoom Zip Zing–In the Zone!

a-mile-is-a-mileWhen starting this A to Z Challenge on April 1, I didn’t know where I was going to pull 26 blog posts from. I schedule myself time to draw up an editorial calendar so I can plan out my content, but I mostly write here when inspired. My thanks to all the new readers and subscribers (some of whom are also victors in the Challenge). I received more consistent comments in this one month than most of the 6-year history of Daree’s Insights.

I zoomed past my own short running record (two weeks) on Saturday. A week prior, someone invited me to come to her fundraising 6K walk/run event, introduce myself and discuss my books. Newbie runner I am, I began jogging that morning at about a 5 mph pace (I usually do 3.8 to 4.5 mph). I completed the 4.2 mile trail in 53 minutes. However, when running with a group in the neighborhood, I completed less than 4 miles in the same timeframe. My average split pace was about 11, 12, and 13 minute-miles (I tired progressively with each mile). The funny thing is, on the treadmill the day before, I was worn out running 2 miles in 30 minutes. I’ve set some running goals for the rest of the year, and I have a feeling I’m going to make a lot of new friends with this new pursuit.

 
That’s my quick update and wrap-up for A-to-Z. I’ll do a recap of my life in April later this week.

What gets you in “the zone”?

5 thoughts on “Zoom Zip Zing–In the Zone!

Comments are closed.