Just Checking Up on You

Credit: nwcovna.org/

I was grateful to be able to talk to my mother on Mother’s Day (yesterday), but some people no longer have their mother physically with them due to various health challenges and tragedies. In the past I’ve talked about my mother’s unplanned open heart surgery, the stress of depression (including why the stigma against therapy hurts the black community), and the recent murder of my stepson’s mother.


This week is National Women’s Health Week (May 12-18, 2013), and today is National Women’s Checkup Day.  I want to encourage all of you to schedule your regular checkup for this year if you haven’t already done so. If necessary, decide today what changes you will make regarding your work schedule, your eating habits, activity level, and leisure time with those you care about.

For yourself, as well your children and others who look up to you and depend on you and love you, call your doctor and make an appointment ASAP. We cannot take our health for granted.

