What Have You Done All Year?

I hope you enjoy my yearly review of major events and accomplishments in 2013.

What I Did in 2013

 

Bookish Stuff

Runnin’ Thangs

1506434_10153673052695440_1329028069_n
Me, feeling exuberant after a 7-miler

I obtained three fitness instructor certifications this year, but I’m proudest of my decision to start–and keep on–running. It was monumental that I even started running in the first place!

Super-quick running summary:

  • Finished five 5K races (four in Atlanta, including a 6K, and one in Charlotte)
  • Total of 425 miles ran in approximately 86 hours (April to December)

2014 Plans include more races: one half marathon in Virginia Beach, one 15K in Atlanta, three 10Ks (one in Brooklyn), and several smaller races in Atlanta. (I am also shooting for a race in Boston and other cities as my budget allows.)

Trippin’

This year I went to Virginia (visiting family and friends), Charlotte (runner’s conference), and Las Vegas (fitness conference).

2014 Plans include trips to St. Louis, Cleveland, and a few cities where I hope to run in races as mentioned above.

4 Big I-Want-To-Dos in 2014

These are listed in the order in which I think will be hardest to easiest to achieve:

  1. Learn how to swim
  2. Learn self-defense techniques (I had a scary encounter while running alone the other day)
  3. Finish a half-marathon (at least one, as mentioned above)
  4. Launch my new book

What’s Working…. and What’s Not

This year I’ve benefited from these routines or behaviors:

  • Having regular quiet time
  • Bonding with my daughter through fun activities as well as the nature of homeschooling
  • Regular exercise
  • Cooking real food more often (rather than relying on processed, “convenience” foods)
  • Connecting with friends more often

Start + and Stop –

Behaviors and attitudes I need to start doing (+) and stop doing (-):

Source: SaneSpaces.com
Source: SaneSpaces.com

+ getting more sleep

+ scanning paper documents and receipts to reduce clutter

+ saving more $ to move mid-year and/or take a few trips

– not saving a set amount from each paycheck

– complaining; impatience while driving and waiting in lines

– comparing my status in life with others (thinking theirs is better/easier)

– using items that require a battery or cord past 10 pm (leads to inadequate rest)

 

Deep Realizations

There’s no win in comparison. Comparing myself to others makes my hurts and frustrations a top priority as it focuses on me, myself and why.

Satisfaction doesn’t come from answers. When it comes to certain things in my life that I don’t understand or that cause me emotional distress, letting go and realizing that I don’t have to know the reasons why, is what brings me real peace. Reasoning, wondering and speculating never do. 

Ursula-K-Le-Guin-uncertainty-MeetvilleQuotes

So what have YOU done all year? It’s bragging time! My best wishes for a healthy, happy new year.

 

