Do You Care Too Much About What People Think?

Throughout the month, I’m blogging 20 questions from this month’s feature article on O magazine. 
idontcareanymore-tumblr

Question 2: Do I Care Too Much About What People Think?

No. I am not a people-pleaser, and I don’t suffer from low self-esteem or approval addiction.

“What people think of you is really none of your business.” – Martha Graham

Being true to you is an overarching theme of my first book. In it, I describe situations where I dumbed down in hopes of being accepted by my peers. And as an adult, I’ve had conversations with men who tell me that because of my strong, low voice and confidence in how I carry myself, men are somewhat intimidated to approach me.

But I’m not going to change the way I talk to impress anyone.

“Too Much”

Now if you remove the words “Too Much” from this question, my answer would be “Yes,” on condition. I value the opinions of a small circle of people who are close to me, love and respect me, and only want the best for me. At the same time, I’m the only one who can live my life–they can’t live it for me. So when I make decisions, my top considerations are how it will affect me and my daughter, and whether God is for it. (Sometimes in that order, to be honest.)

Your turn–do you care TOO MUCH about what others think of you?

One thought on “Do You Care Too Much About What People Think?

Comments are closed.