Are You Helpful?

(Throughout the month, I’m blogging 20 questions from this month’s feature article in O magazine.)
QUESTION 10- Am I Helpful?
 
Hold me (hand). I am your Care, Safety, Strength, Love, and Help
Photo Credit: International Orthodox Christian Charities (IOCC)
People always ask me things like, how can I break into technical writing [like me]? Or about my writing process. How I got started homeschooling. How I get my nails to grow so long. What they should know LASIK surgery process and if I’d do it again. How I lost so much weight. How long/fast/much do I run.
 
Often, I will direct them to this blog, because I’m so descriptive in my writing. But everyone doesn’t want to read. Lucky them, because I love to talk, too
 
Sometimes though, I get in my introverted moods where I just don’t want to talk to anyone. Or the “help” being requested is really someone who is capable, but lazy, and wants me to do their work for them. Or, it could be that I feel like I’m repeating myself way too much.
 
I love to learn. I love information, but it’s everywhere. A simple Google search can become overwhelming when you start looking through the results. So I see why it’s easier sometimes to just ask someone who has already done something you’re interested in or trying to do. So don’t be offended if I send you here. It’s just easier for me to save a little energy that way. Overall, I think I’m pretty helpful and I don’t hoard knowledge.
Do you have a hard time asking for–or giving–help when needed?
