What Are You Afraid Of?


(Throughout the month, I’m blogging 20 questions from this month’s feature article in O magazine.) 



QUESTION 11- What Am I Afraid Of?

In the past I’ve been afraid of being left out from what was going on with the cool kids. Lately I’ve been afraid that I’m missing out on enjoying my life, if I just base it off of emails of happenings and various Facebook posts.  It’s one of the reasons why so many people get hooked on social media. “FOMO.”

 

But the fear I’m going to address here is literal. You may want to ask yourself this question two or three times each time you answer it to get to the root.

 

What are you afraid of?
But then what are you really afraid of?

 

I love families and I love mine. I don’t want to lose my parents–not so much afraid, because I know someday it will happen–its just that I’m not looking forward to living without them.

 

I hope that I will not be alone when my daughter grows up– there’s no guarantee that I’ll get married again.

 

I’ve been afraid that the one that I care about so much doesn’t really care much about me.

 

Sometimes I think I’m afraid of success. Other times I’m afraid that I’m not as good as others that do what I do. Or that I’ll be overlooked even if I am.


Now that you know what you are afraid of, what are you going to do about it?

 

