Have You Accepted Your Body?

(Throughout the month, I’m blogging 20 questions from this month’s feature article in O magazine.)
 QUESTION 13- Have I Accepted My Body?

 

Although this O article is geared to women, today’s question is the first one that I think is really meant to be applied to just women–men care about their looks, but in this society, us ladies are all too vocal about our hangups with our physicality.

 

Last weekend, I attended two book signings, and at one of them, I was introduced to read a section of the author’s book. I read an excerpt that I first published on this blog five years ago about how I tried to emulate the hairstyles and looks of stars in music videos.

 

Over the years, I’ve made peace with my body size and shape. I’m a “pear” and I like it.  Been wanting to do a tummy tuck for a long time (it’s been 11 years since I was pregnant) but everything else is pretty good. Aesthetically, my favorite body part is my lips. Their shape and size are perfect, and are closely related to my speaking talent.

 

If you dislike something about your body, there’s no point in rehashing it or uttering it to yourself or around others. Remember–it may a flaw to you, but to someone else you it might be an asset they wish for.
