Have You Forgiven Your Parents?

(Throughout the month, I’m blogging 20 questions from this month’s feature article in O magazine.)
QUESTION 15 – Have I Forgiven My Parents?

 

In my memoir, I shared how I used to look at my parents then vs. now.  I believe my parents were great at raising children and did the best they could with what they had (considering their own upbringing, strength, and emotional factors, aka EQ).

As we grow older, we realize that our parents are people too! They have hopes, dreams and desires, flaws like everyone else.  Sometimes they put off their own happiness on hold to put their kids first.

It’s easy to stand on the sidelines (or watching a reality show) and judge someone’s parenting style (hello Kris Jenner and Dina Lohan), but until you raise a child or two yourself, in the same (or worse) circumstances, you really don’t have room to talk.
