Do You Let Yourself Fail Enough?

(Throughout the month, I’m blogging 20 questions from this month’s feature article in O magazine.) 

 

QUESTION 19 – Do I Let Myself Fail Enough?

 

We’re coming down to the home stretch here with these 20 questions of the month. This question goes hand in hand with allowing yourself to say Yes more often.  Making mistakes or getting something wrong is often how you get closer to figuring out what’s right. So-called failure is necessary for personal growth.

 

 

I have made some not-so-prudent business decisions when hiring people to help produce my first book, for instance. I’ve relocated a few time and spent years in new cities where I had almost no family or connections.  My marriage failed 10 years ago, and I have experienced devastating financial setbacks. I have done many things in my adult life that are very brave, but I also see areas where I play it safe.

 

My speaking career has not flourished the way would have liked since starting that investment and pursuit in 2008 with Toastmasters and then various mentors and coaches thereafter.

 

It doesn’t mean I’m going to give up. I know the talent and gift I have, and that it’s needed.

 

I could probably stand to get out there more, make more cold calls and face potential rejection.   Or potential exposure. But neither is failure.

 

What task or project do you need to take a leap of faith on?
