The Not-So-Average Black Girl: April 2014 Highlights/Recap

Since I spent this month in journal-mode, I didn’t mention notable things I saw or did. So here goes a few highlights for the month:

 

  • I had 3 interviews about my new book (including one tonight)!
  • I celebrated my one-year “Runnerversary,” clocking 535.45 miles (up to that date), including 1M, four 5Ks, 6K, 8K, 10K, and one 15K races. I did another 5K a week ago, so that makes 10 races total! My next race will be in Boston at the Runner’s World
  • I was nominated for Most Versatile Blogger by Brandi Hawthorne

 

The Average Black Girl is Not So Average

Two really cool things I saw in pop culture this month:

 

A spoken word performance by Ernestine Johnson on Arsenio Hall on 4/10/14, entitled “Average Black Girl,” which I SO relate to. She gave me life with this poem!


Standards of beauty have long been “light” in Hollywood. The breakout star of one of the most important feature films of 2013, 12 Years a Slave, changed all that.

Enter Ms. Lupita Nyong’o.



This month she was named #1 on People Magazine’s 50 Most Beautiful Peoplegiving long-overdue validation to colored girls who rarely see their dark skin celebrated on the big screen.

 

 

 

 

