What I Learned From: Reading Celebrity Memoirs (And Why You Should Read Mine)

“Bookworm” is a badge I wear proudly and have ever since I was a kid. My books of choice then were mainly fiction tales, never dreaming that as an adult I would write my own memoir.


I read a lot of celebrity memoirs this summer, including (starred by my personal rating):

Orange is the New Black (Piper Kerman) ****

Everybody’s Brother (Cee-Lo Green) ** 1/2

Handbook for an Unpredictable Life (Rosie Perez)*****

The Love Playbook (LaLa Anthony) *** [some overlap with lessons I teach in my book]

Mo’ Meta Blues – Questlove (Ahmire Thompson) ****

Ultramarathon Man (Dean Karnazes) ***

Unbreak My Heart (Toni Braxton) ****

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Haruki Murakami) ***



I listened to all of these books except Questlove’s and LaLa‘s.  For the most part, they all contain introspection and show author as a real person with a variety of interest and insecurities that make them even more relatable than they seem in the media. So many people that you might think don’t have struggles, have them–or worse.



The memoirs next on my list include those by:

  • Robin Roberts (with whom I share the same birthday this month) – Everybody’s Got Something
  • Oprah – What I Know For Sure
  • Lena Dunham – Not That Kind of Girl
  • Sheila E. – Beat of My Own Drum
  • Common – One Day It Will All Make Sense
  • Ashley Judd – All That is Bitter and Sweet
wwwm_bookset

I don’t force myself to finish books that are boring or that don’t suit me. So I returned Aisha Tyler’s and Andy Cohen’s books after reading just one chapter each. Couldn’t get into them.

 

I think you’ll be able to get into my memoir though*. Why?
  • It has lots of interesting, juicy stories.
  • It’s honest.
  • It teaches lessons that every young woman should learn before she finishes school.
  • God told me to publish it–so it’s definitely worth sharing.
You can learn more and get a free chapter by clicking on the book covers to the right.

 

*If you’re a female (13+) who has ever experienced insecurity or self-doubt, and needed guidance.
2 thoughts on “What I Learned From: Reading Celebrity Memoirs (And Why You Should Read Mine)

  1. Great post. Lots of food for thought. Some of these memoirs I’ve read before, but many of them are new to me and will be going on my wishlist for Christmas.

Comments are closed.