Pursuing Peace with Me: My Life in January 2013

Believe it or not, the first month of the year is over. For me, I can honestly say it’s been awesome. This goal-getter is off to a great start! I feel peaceful about the goals that I’ve been working on and what’s in store for me this year.

I started this month with a fast of sorts, but I modified it and changed it to clean eating–and I did pretty well until it was time to travel.

Surprising Sissy

Back on my birthday in November, I was at my sister’s house. She hosted Thanksgiving dinner, so I drove up (about 1,200 miles round trip). My birthday was the next day, and it was then that I decided that I would come back for her birthday, which was this month. I had my mother keep the secret (they live together), and since they also both work at the same place, I surprised her that morning with my daughter and flowers. She didn’t really react but she was happy to see us, and I was glad I could do it. (One of the benefits of homeschooling is that I was able to do it even while we were away from home–no attendance issues incurred.)

TurboGirl Grad

Fitness - Zumba dance training in gymI completed TurboKick training, which was long but exhilarating (get a taste of it in the video below). If that wasn’t great enough, I also had my first audition a week later with the owner of a dance and fitness studio nearby, and I was nervous, even though I know her. Her feedback was that my cuing, speaking and choreography were great, but I’m a little winded halfway through class, so I need to build up my endurance with running or other cardio activities. That way, she said, I can challenge participants who are pretty fit–I can then motivate and give them something to work toward.  I recently joined Black Girls Run!, so now I have additional incentive to participate in weekly runs.

The Accidental Homeschooler

I’m an “accidental homeschooler*.” I didn’t plan to do this, but after month 1, I’m happy to say that I feel freedom, peace (and surprisingly, patience). It’s going more smoothly than I thought–for both of us! The girl goes to her STEM classes and a set of elective classes (on two different days of the week). I’ve had to make major adjustments in our schedules, but I feel like that and the additional expenses with the “home study” schools and co-op group are worth it.

Other things I did:

  • Met celebrities and entrepreneurs Nicci Gilbert and Marshawn Lewis at a great event
  • Bought my first bed of my own (always had furniture from my former spouse or handed down from a family member)
  • Enrolled in a class with a new coach; my goal is to go from free to fee and build a stronger brand

Next Up

Things I’m looking forward to in February 2013 are:

  • Hiring new contractors for book (I am praying that it will go a lot smoother than last time)
  • Buying a new couch (again–never had one of my own)
  • Reaching my goal weight (I’m 5 pounds away)
  • Getting my tax refund (I’m almost done and ready to file now)
  • Earning my AFAA certification so I can become an official fitness instructor (I need to make all these investments pay off)
  • Yo Gabba Gabba Live! – I bought tickets for my daughter and I in October, so the anticipation has been building! (Cue the spontaneous chorus of “Hold Stilllllllll…. wiggle wiggle wiggle – GO!”

* – A term for those who homeschool by a process of elimination, not because homeschooling is their primary choice.

3 thoughts on “Pursuing Peace with Me: My Life in January 2013

  1. DAREE
    Happy 2013 to ya! You are well on your way. Life is full of excitement and changes. You handle them both well. Congrats on all of your endeavors.
    I look forward to seeing your *Wish/Goal list accomplished in February! !!

    Continued Blessings
    Veronique

Comments are closed.